About Us

Our Approach

Our goals (as stated in Article II of the CSMA Constitution) are to: encourage interest in journalism through participation in school publications, raise the standards of school publications, encourage the recognition of journalism as an important course of study – particularly as it reflects the ability of students to use the mass media in understanding their role as media consumers and citizens,

CSMA also desires to: encourage school publications to accept responsibility as a vital means of communication in the school community, foster students’ interest in print, broadcast, and multi-media journalism, encourage students to communicate accurately, concisely, ethically, aesthetically, and responsibly, encourage knowledge of and appreciation for the rights and responsibilities stated in the First Amendment to the United States Constitution and in Colorado state law, encourage students to exercise their legal rights and uphold their ethical responsibilities as student journalists, and provide support for and encourage the professional growth of advisers.

Our Story

Founded in 1970, the Colorado Student Media Association, formerly the Colorado High School Press Association, has been housed in adviser homes, as well as the University of Colorado – Boulder and Colorado State University, and is now is associated with the Department of Journalism and Media Communication at CSU. The current office for CSMA is in the home of the executive director.


Dorothy Greer was CHSPA Executive Secretary from 1970-1989

Executive Directors
Don Ridgway  1989 – May, 1996
Barbara Plungy  May, 1996 – July 2001
Dianne Gum  August, 2001 – July 2003
Jeff Browne  August, 2003 – December, 2004
Kim Blumhardt  January, 2005 – July, 2007
Clarissa Crozier  August, 2007 – June 30, 2010
Jack Kennedy  July 1, 2010 –

Meet the Team

Board of Directors

Shall comprise the Executive Board, consisting of: President, Vice-President/President-

Elect, Secretary, Immediate Past President, Advocacy Coordinator, Education Coordinator, Digital Media Coordinator, and Middle School Coordinator.

Officers shall be elected from among active members of CSMA, and all nominees must be current advisers of CSMA-member media when nominations are made.

Elected ofiicers may only serve in one position per term. Only Executive Board members shall have voting rights at

Board meetings, though any member may attend.

Contact Us

The Colorado Student Media Association, which became our official name on July 1, 2015, replacing Colorado High School Press Association, is officially headquartered at 9253 Sori Lane, Highlands Ranch CO 80126.

For most CSMA business, including membership and J-Day registration, the mailing address is:
Jack Kennedy, CSMA Executive Director
9253 Sori Lane
Highlands Ranch CO 80126

  1. Your first electronic contact method is email: jpkjournalism@gmail.com
  2. You can also call Executive Director Jack Kennedy at 303-550-4755
  3. “Like us” on Facebook , and you can send us messages there, as well as get all sorts of info from us.
  4. You can even follow us on Twitter at @ColoradoSMA.